Powering a Tascam DR-60D digital field recorder with a Mi 10400mAh Powerbank

I use my Panasonic Lumix GH3 camera mostly for wildlife and macro filming and on the occasions I need to record live sound in the field, a Rode VideoMic on the hotshoe ( with a Rode Deadcat from my NTG1 microphone to reduce wind noise ) is a good lightweight solution.

Last year I started using the GH3 to shoot web commercials but found I needed more audio control when recording interviews. Also, I needed 48 volt phantom XLR power for my NTG1. The Tascam DR-60D portable PCM recorder had been available for a few months and had good reviews so I decided to get one.

Tascam DR-60D

Tascam DR-60D

Many reviews had criticised the poor battery life of the Tascam ( the DR-60D uses 4 AA sized 1.5v alkaline or 1.2v NiMh cells ) and in the field I found I struggled to get 30 minutes recording time from alkaline batteries. I also had the additional problem ( not reported in any reviews ) of newly charged NiMh batteries causing the Tascam to crash a few seconds after being switched on. It took several switch-on attempts over a 10 or 15 minute period before the display would finally lock on.

The DR-60D can also be powered via a 5 volt mini USB port, and many owners have gone down this route, buying a portable Powerbank phone / tablet charger as the main power source.

It obviously adds additional bulk and weight to the Tascam but is worth it for the extended recording time. I looked at numerous Powerbanks, rejecting those that looked underpowered, flimsy or had an unwanted built in torch, and chose a Mi 10400 mAh model, with a tough aluminium housing and reliable LG or Samsung Li-ion cells.  http://www.mi.com/en/mipowerbank10400/  . The Mi is also available in 5000 mAh and 16000 mAh versions. My 10400 mAh version cost £19.99 from a UK Ebay seller.

Be wary of fake versions though – yes, Chinese made fakes of a genuine Chinese product. This link shows how to tell the difference between a fake and the real thing http://www.techmesto.com/identify-fake-xiaomi-power-bank/ .

I’ve mounted the Mi to the Tascam using an aluminium block ( self drilled and 1/4″ threaded ) and a smartphone tripod support, both, like the Mi itself, bought on Ebay.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

I haven’t done a conclusive battery life test but after recording with the Tascam, with 48volt phantom power switched on continuously for 6 hours, the Mi Powerbank was still showing 3 of its 4 power remaining lights.

The Mi is recharged via a micro USB port. A short USB to micro USB charging cable is supplied but it doesn’t come with a 5 volt USB charger. A 2 amp unit is recommended, which will charge the Mi in about 8 hours. For output to the Tascam you’ll need a USB to mini USB cable. Remaining charge can be tested by pressing the button on the side of Mi – the LEDs will flash for 10 seconds.

When plugged in to the Tascam, even when the DR-60D is switched off, the LED lights on the Mi will illuminate, giving a constant indication of the power level.

I don’t have any information as to whether the newer Tascam DR-60D mkii and DR-70D models have a better battery life but for the DR-60D I happily recommend the Mi Li-ion Powerbank.

2 thoughts on “Powering a Tascam DR-60D digital field recorder with a Mi 10400mAh Powerbank

  1. Excelent! Thank for this review. I m actually thinking in do that. How long, can it work continually?. Continuos use cause overtemperature for The powerbank?
    thank you.
    sorry for my english
    i am from argentina.
    My name is Andrés.

    • Thanks Andres,
      I’ve used it for 4 or 5 hours continually and there is still plenty of power left. No, the powerbank doesn’t overheat under continuous use.
      Regards,
      Steve

Leave a comment